Become a Member
Shopping Cart
Facebook YouTube RSS Feed Flicker

University Of Vermont

The University of Vermont (UVM), located in Burlington, VT started their collegiate ski program in 1950 as a four-event ski team (slalom, giant slalom, ski jumping, and cross-country). The first coach was Bob Searles, who responsible for recruiting Larry Damon, the high school slalom champion at that time who later became UVM’s first NCAA ski champion in cross-country skiing in 1955. Bob Searles left the program in 1953 and was followed by other Vermonters who included Al Duval and Jake Stuart. In the early 1960’s UVM hired Bob Stone as the first full-time coach. Other noted Vermont nordic coaches included Denis Lambert, Chip LaCasse, and Perry Bland. In 1972, UVM introduced their first women’s three-event team with Bland as the coach. Perry went on to coach both the men’s and women’s cross-country ski teams in 1972. 

The UVM ski program earned six NCAA National Championship titles in 1980, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1994, and 2012. Vermont nordic athletes went on to win 29 individual and relay national championship titles. Vermont NCAA National Nordic Champions include: 

Women's Freestyle Cross-Country      

1990, Laura Wilson

1991, Laura Wilson

1994, Nina Hamilton

Women's Classical Cross Country

1990, Laura Wilson

1991, Laura Wilson

Men's Cross Country

1955, Larry Damon

1976, Stan Dunklee

Women's Cross Country

1988, Brenda White

Women's Cross-Country Relay

1987, Erica MacDonald, Brenda White

1988, Laura Wilson, Brenda White

UVM produced many Olympic athletes throughout the years and continues to be a major force in nordic skiing. The legacy of Vermont nordic Olympians who skied for UVM include Tessa Benoit, Larry Damon, Stan Dunklee, Joe Galanes, Kerrin Petty, Laura Wilson, and Brenda White.